Christ of Life, We Welcome Your Coming

Reflection by: Megan K.

“Come Oh Lord to set us free: Marantha, Maranatha, Maranatha.”

At this time of year, we are preparing for the celebration of the birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. We welcome our families into our home, we enjoy hot cocoa by the fire, and we eat a good meal together.  But we cannot forget the reasons for Advent season. Advent is a time when we can reclaim the light of the Messiah in our own lives. Longing for hope in an age full of fear, dreaming of light in the dark: Is the Messiah, the promised One near? When will our Savior appear?”  We, in our own lives, may ask if the Lord is near, or if He will appear. In my own life, I know that the Lord is always near me and that He is with all of us, always. During Advent season, we remember why God is in our lives and how truly important God is for our lives. For me, several years ago while I was in elementary school, my father had a heart attack. The doctors later said his arteries were around 98% clogged. For him to have survived this traumatic event was a true miracle. It taught me that prayers can be answered, and that I can trust in God. Before then, it was really hard for me to understand God, and who He is. But, with Him, I grew as a person. As I grew, I faced many challenges to this belief, including unanswered prayers. I would pray for something to happen and, when it didn’t happen, I would ask God why He didn’t do it for me, and I would become frustrated.  However, I had to remember, some unanswered prayers aren’t really unanswered. We don’t see the answers because the answers aren’t what we want to hear. This past March, I lost a very close friend of mine.  It was really hard because nobody was able to say goodbye to him, because he died instantly. It was difficult to believe that he had passed away because he was only 18 and he had his whole life ahead of him. I would ask God and blame God for taking him so soon, but I didn’t realize something. My friend didn’t feel any pain and he’s in Heaven now. Knowing that has made his death easier to cope with and has made me grow in faith. This faith that I have has truly made me appreciate the Advent season and what it’s here for. It’s a time for me to reflect on all that God has done for me and thank Him for what He has done, is doing, and what He will do in the future.

Megan K. is a freshman, Interdisciplinary English Language Arts and Reading (Elementary Education) Major. She is a brother of Alpha Phi Omega, she participates in S.E.A.L., and she sings in the Chapel Choir.

About I.Q.

Irene began working with St. Mary's University in August of 2008. She currently serves as the Minister for Faith Formation and Faith Enrichment with University Ministry and as adjunct faculty with the Theology Department. Irene holds a M.A. in Systematic & Philosophical Theology and Ethics & Social Theory. As well as a B.A. in Religious Studies and Philosophy.

Posted on December 23, 2013, in Lenten Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

