2nd Week of Advent

By: Karla Benavidez

The full formation of my spiritual life must be accredited to my grandmother.  My grandmother is the voice that called to me while in the desert.  Church was never forced upon me in my home as I was growing up.  We believed and worshiped in our own way and on our own time.  My grandma was the one that still attended church every Sunday, even if she could barely stand the pain in her knees.  Of course, she always “strongly” encouraged all in my family to go with her…strongly meaning she told us!…and like most children, I was hesitant to sit through an hour long service spoken mostly in Spanish.  Yet, her persistence was admirable.

When I was about twelve years old, something clicked and I decided to attend church with her.  It was as if the Lord himself spoke to me that day.  It was actually fun!  I went the next Sunday and the next until finally, I was a “regular”.  Becoming involved in the church not only brought me closer to our Lord but also closer to my Grandmother.  The life lessons I learned with my youth group helped guide my choices and attitude through what were supposed to be the roughest years in life.  On the contrary, my teenage years were the best.  As I grow older, I understand now that it was God’s plan to fully encompass my life during those years and to help me navigate through the “teen” wilderness.

Without my Grandmother there to be a constant voice for God in my life, I don’t know what my choices could have been or where my life would lead.  Her faith in me and in God has led me to grow closer to her and to always remember the Holy Spirit in everything I do.  She still hobbles out of the house every Sunday to hear the Word and pray for all of us.  She is the leader of my family’s spiritual life and our guide out of that desert.

About I.Q.

Irene began working with St. Mary's University in August of 2008. She currently serves as the Minister for Faith Formation and Faith Enrichment with University Ministry and as adjunct faculty with the Theology Department. Irene holds a M.A. in Systematic & Philosophical Theology and Ethics & Social Theory. As well as a B.A. in Religious Studies and Philosophy.

Posted on December 11, 2012, in Lenten Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

