Good Friday

“Because of his affliction he shall see the light in fullness of days; Through his suffering, my servant shall justify many, and their guilt he shall bear.” Isaiah 53:11

Now it is time to come to the cross. Perhaps you have experienced the death of a loved one and can remember the day they died. As I think about today being the day that we commemorate Christ’s death on the cross, I can’t help but be reminded that life is precious. Today, I am thinking about all the people in my life who have died, especially the ones who were very close to me. I really miss them as I remember them and will keep them close to my thoughts today.

As for my faith journey, I am thinking about the crosses I am bearing. My Lenten journey has been to recognize these crosses and find a way to lessen them. Most of the time, they get in the way of my attending to the good things in my life, especially the relationships I am in that need my love and care. Today, in preparation for the Easter celebration, offer the burdens of your life to God through Christ’s death and truly find a way to be freed from them.

Tonight, take some time to venerate your crosses and sacrifice them to the Lord.

Then we shall see the light in fullness!

Wayne E. Romo

About waynesworld62

Currently serving as the Director of University Ministry since June 2006, I have a bachelor's degree in Latin American Studies of the Pontifical College Josephinum and a Masters in Theological Studies from Oblate School of Theology. I am married to Margaret and have a 13 year old son, Joshua. I love becoming who I am and not just what I do! :)

Posted on April 23, 2011, in Lenten Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

