Holy Thursday

“If I, therefore, the master and teacher, have washed your feet, you ought to wash one another’s feet. I have given you a model to follow, so that as I have done for you, you should also do.” John 13: 14-15

I don’t know about you, but today’s Gospel is a bit uncomfortable for me when I hear that being a true disciple means washing someone’s feet. All I can think of is my Mom and wife yelling at me for putting my dirty feet on the couch. Washing feet is something I don’t necessarily want to be doing except for my own.

This is what makes this Gospel message such a special one. We are shown a model for living life if we want to truly follow Christ and it is given at a time when the human life of Christ is soon to come to an end. Think about it. If I am at a stage of life that is soon to bring my life to an end, I am inclined to want to do things that are deeply meaningful.

In this case with Jesus, he washes the feet of his disciples. What’s interesting in the Gospel of John, the foot washing exchange happens before all else that leads to Jesus’ death. It’s that important!

So, what is your posture to the people of God and to what extent are you truly willing to wash another’s feet? Guess what! I’m not talking about doing this literally, unless you are a volunteer for services tonight at your church. What I am being reminded of tonight is now that Lent soon will end, am I prepared to live like Christ has asked? It was not a choice he gave to the apostles. It was a model for us to follow. Tomorrow is Good Friday and it’s time to start washing some feet.

By Wayne E Romo

About waynesworld62

Currently serving as the Director of University Ministry since June 2006, I have a bachelor's degree in Latin American Studies of the Pontifical College Josephinum and a Masters in Theological Studies from Oblate School of Theology. I am married to Margaret and have a 13 year old son, Joshua. I love becoming who I am and not just what I do! :)

Posted on April 21, 2011, in Lenten Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

