Monday of Holy Week

“So Jesus said, “Leave her alone. Let her keep this for the day of my burial.
You always have the poor with you, but you do not always have me.” John 12:7-8

Wow! We are in the 6th week of Lent! Can you believe it? If today you are concerned with the sacrifices you had hoped to keep for Lent, the Gospel seems to imply it is time to look at the bigger picture. Usually about this time I check myself in terms of how faithful I have been to my Lenten promises. Then, for the ones I think I have not maintained, I can spend this week making up for lost time. Unfortunately, after reading today’s Gospel, I think I am off the mark. After all, this is Holy Week! I am reminded today, that my focus now needs to shift from the small ways in which I make my own sacrifices and ask instead, how have my sacrifices lead me to fully appreciating Christ dying for my sins.

So, what are you doing to make this week a holy journey? If you are sweating the small stuff, it’s time to start thinking bigger, like laying down one’s life for others. Wow! We are in the 6th week of Lent!

by Wayne Romo

About waynesworld62

Currently serving as the Director of University Ministry since June 2006, I have a bachelor's degree in Latin American Studies of the Pontifical College Josephinum and a Masters in Theological Studies from Oblate School of Theology. I am married to Margaret and have a 13 year old son, Joshua. I love becoming who I am and not just what I do! :)

Posted on April 18, 2011, in Lenten Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

