Are we there Yet?

Tuesday of the Fifth Week of Lent

Todays Readings:
Nm 21:4-9
Ps 102:2-3, 16-18, 19-21
Jn 8:21-30

The last time I was on a road trip from San Antonio to Dayton, Ohio, I think I may have annoyed everyone in the car when I kept asking whether we had left Texas yet. Traveling, whether by air or land, is never a fun experience for me. I’m always anxious for it to end. Looking forward to what I’ll be doing once I get to my destination, and sometimes dreading the return trip back. I even know of a few people that I can commiserate about our travel experiences. I think we sometimes feed off of each others energizes, even if they are sometimes negative.

In all of these experiences, the one thing I have learned about myself, is that I’m not attentive to the actual journey. I’m so focused on the destination, I miss a few things on my way there. Thats a valuable lesson about myself, which I always often forget. I sometimes wonder whether the same could be said about the wondering Israelites. They were so miserable and were starting to think that perhaps they’ll never get to their destination or maybe even wondering whether their was a destination, that they weren’t paying much attention to the actual journey.

As barren as the desert may seem, God can still be found in the desert, if we only bother to stop and be present to the present. We can learn something from our journey to wherever it is God is leading us to. So what we might ask ourselves is, how attentive have I been to my own journey during this Lenten season?

About Bro. Brandon K. Alana, S.M.

A graduate of Chaminade University, he now serves as minister for retreats.

Posted on April 12, 2011, in Lenten Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

