Do you want to be well?

Ezekiel 47:1-9,12

Psalm 46

John 5:1-16

“Do you want to be well?” Jesus asks the crippled man.  Whenever I have come across this reading I can’t help but wonder what Jesus was thinking.  Really Jesus?  Is that not a rhetorical question you’re asking?  Of course the man wants to be healed!  The man does not answer ‘yes’ right away, but appears to give an excuse and tells Jesus that he misses his opportunity because someone else beats him to the pool.  How many times haven’t I hesitated to answer ‘yes’ right away and am quick to offer God excuses about why I don’t apprehend the opportunity to ‘be well’.  What is it that I am afraid of?  Or am I so caught up with trivial concerns in my life that the effort it would take to set them aside would inconvenience me?  Is not my inner ‘wellness’ more important in that moment?  Unless I take the risk to let myself be bathed in God’s pool of mercy, no healing can take place.  It’s scary to jump into the deep water and risk drowning.  It’s often not pleasant to look inside of ourselves and see the wounds and the shadows.  But isn’t it much more liberating and comforting to hear God say, “Rise, take up your mat, and walk”?  The waters of God’s love can be refreshing and rejuvenating.  They’re worth ‘dipping’ into…

Yes Lord.  I want to be well.

About maurorasmith

Maria is presently working as Minister for Liturgy and Music at St. Mary's University Ministry. She has an Undergraduate degree in Theology and has just completed studies for an M.A. in Theology, both from St. Mary's University.

Posted on April 5, 2011, in Lenten Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

